Three Miners Named To All-Conference USA Women's Soccer Team

IRVING, Texas -- A trio of UTEP soccer players were named All-Conference USA soccer team as announced by the league office on Tuesday.

Senior midfielder Kaletia Roberts, sophomore forward Jami Tullius and sophomore goalkeeper Brittany Popoff each garnered second-team honors for the Miners. Roberts becomes the second player in school history to earn four all-conference nods, joining Ja'net Esparza, who played at UTEP from 1996-99.

Roberts' second-team selection is her fourth in as many seasons. In 2005, she has started 17 games while appearing in 19. The Dallas native has five assists and a goal for the 17-2-1 Miners.

Tullius ranks second on the team and seventh in the league with 13 goals. In just two seasons, the El Paso, Texas, native ranks among the schools'  top five rankings in points, goals and game-winning goals.

Popoff has asserted herself as one of the top keepers in school history with her 0.89 goals-against average and five solo shutouts this year. The Westbank, British Columbia, native also ranks second in the conference with a .841 save percentage.

This marks the eighth-consecutive year that UTEP has had at least two all-conference honorees and the first time since 2002 to place three players on the all-conference teams.

The 2005 Offensive Player of the Year went to Memphis forward Shoko Mikami and the Defensive Player of the Year to Curtney Baines of UCF. Freshman of the Year was awarded to Nasra Abdullah of UAB, while Coach of the Year went to SMU's John Cossaboon.

UTEP will play Memphis at the Rice Track/Soccer Stadium on Wednesday at 1:20 p.m. MST. The winner will face either UCF or Houston on Friday in the semifinals at 4 p.m. MST.

The complete list of the all-Conference USA teams follows:


Offensive Player of the Year
Shoko Mikami, Memphis

Defensive Player of the Year
Courtney Baines, UCF

Freshman of the Year
Nasra Abdullah, UAB

Coach of the Year
John Cossaboon, SMU

All-Conference First Team
F: Kimber Bailey, SMU
F: Shoko Mikami, Memphis
F: Roberta Pelarigo, UCF
MF: Nasra Abdullah, UAB
MF: Susanne Collins, SMU
MF: Sophia Mundy, Houston
MF: Jill Porto, UAB
D: Courtney Baines, UCF
D: Erin Droeger, Rice
D: Carley Phillips, SMU
GK: Ashley Gunter, SMU

All-Conference Second Team
F: Meghan McCallion, East Carolina
F: Sally Palmer, UAB
F: Caitlin Robbins, Rice
F: Jami Tullius, UTEP
MF: Asuka Kubota, Memphis
MF: Jennifer Montgomery, UCF
MF: Kaletia Roberts, UTEP
D: Pam Cooney, UAB
D: Beth Martin, Rice
D: Kat Norris, East Carolina
GK: Brittany Popoff, UTEP

All-Freshman Team
Nasra Abdullah, MF, UAB
Courtney Gaines, MF, Houston
Ashley Gunter, GK, SMU
Kylie Hayes, F, Memphis
Jennifer Kacergis, MF/F, Tulsa
Ashley Lucas, MF, Rice
Sarah McFadden, F, Southern Miss
Nicole Moore, D, East Carolina
Kirsten Moran, MF, SMU
Caitlin Robbins, F, Rice
Carley Phillips, D, SMU



UTEP Women's Soccer
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article
IMG C-USA NCAA Miner Athletic Club
Auctions Live Chats Western Refining Sponsor El Paso Electric Sponsor Sun Travel Center Sponsor State Farm Sponsor
UTEP Athletics