Adams Inducted Into El Paso Athletic Hall Of Fame

Keitha Adams

April 30, 2014

Like UTEP Women’s Basketball On Facebook

Follow The Miners On Twitter

Follow Coach Adams On Twitter

EL PASO, TEXAS – UTEP women’s basketball head coach Keitha Adams was formally inducted into to the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame at the Sunland Park Race Track and Casino Banquet Hall on Wednesday.

Adams helped comprise the eight-member class of 2014, which also included Bob Azar, J.P. Hayes, Larisa Ito Pitchkolan, Gloria Estrada, Larry Rodriguez, Gene Semko and Gabe Nava (posthumously).

“It’s amazing, I’m extremely honored,” Adams said. “It’s something that I’m very thankful for, and it means a lot. This is a reflection of my players, my coaching staff, UTEP and our administration. I had tremendous support to build the program. It’s an honor.”

Adams is the all-time win leader at UTEP, compiling a mark of 235-165 in 13 years at the program. Overall she stands an impressive 362-202 in 18 seasons as a collegiate head coach.

She has delivered three league championships, including claiming both the 2012 Conference USA regular season and tournament title, guided UTEP into a pair of NCAA Tournaments and a runner-up showing in the 2014 WNIT while changing the fortunes of the program for good.

All five 20+ win campaigns, including an unprecedented three straight, six of the seven seasons of at least 18 victories and nine of the 12 campaigns with at least 16 triumphs all time at UTEP are courtesy of Adams. Furthermore, every player who has exhausted her eligibility at UTEP during her tenure has graduated.



Adams, a two-time C-USA Coach of the Year (2008 & 2012) while also being a finalist for the national distinction once, has compiled a mark of 235-165 to easily surpass the individual she supplanted (Sandra Rushing; 123-175, 11 years) as the all-times wins leader in program history. Her squad has finished at .500 or better nine times, including eight winning seasons, to surpass the amount (seven) of such campaigns in the 27 years before.

UTEP has emerged as one of the best programs in the state of Texas. The Miners have the third-most wins in the Lonestar state during the past eight years (180-76), trailing only recent national champions (Baylor, 247-41 and Texas A&M, 216-66).

Since Adams assumed the post at UTEP, there been 15 individuals to sign a pro deal. They are in the form of Kimya Murray (2001-02), Dragana Zoric (2001-03), Noni Wharemate (2002-04), Vaida Zagurskyte (2002-04), Marta Dydek (2003-05), Dana Penno (2004-05), Kasia Krezel (2004-08) Izabela Piekarska (2004-08),Claudia Porras (2006-08), Jareica Hughes (2006-10), Natasha Lacy(2007-08), Baiba Eglite (2008-12), Anete Steinberga (2009-13), Gloria Brown (2010-12) and Kayla Thornton (2010-14). Both Lacy and Piekarska were drafted in the WNBA.

For timely updates on the program, please like the team on  Facebook & follow it on twitter.

The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners