UTEP Athletics Announces Flo Hyman Award Winners

Feb. 16, 2010

EL PASO, TEXAS- In conjunction with its celebration of “National Girls & Women In Sports Day,” the UTEP Athletics department has revealed its 2010 Flo Hyman Award Winners. This year’s recipients are Miranda L. Vega (Edgemere Elementary), Lauren Taylor Guerra (Canyon Hills Middle School), Annette Escobedo (Clint High School) and Victoria Valencia (Clint High School). 2007 UTEP Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee Debbie (Mitchell) Sjoholm will be involved as well, serving as a key-note speaker at the annual invitation-only banquet.


The honorees, in addition to Sjoholm, will be recognized at halftime of the UTEP women’s basketball game against UAB on Thursday. Tip-off for the tilt is set for 7:05 p.m., and there will be free admission as result of the festivities surrounding NGWSD.


There will be an autograph signing for all available UTEP women’s athletics team following the contest against the Blazers.




Other events on campus this weekend which will be included as part of the celebration are two UTEP tennis matches, in addition to the UTEP women’s basketball team facing off against Memphis.


Head coach Jamie Campbell’s tennis team has won three straight matches, and fans can check out the squad for free twice in the coming days. The Miners will play host to Lamar at 1 p.m. on Friday before battling Colorado State at 12 p.m. MT on Saturday. Both matches will be played at the El Paso Tennis Club, which is located off of Robinson Street.


The UTEP women’s basketball team’s second home tilt of this week will pit it against Memphis at 7 p.m. MT on Saturday. The promotion for the game is “Pink Zone”, as the Miners do their part to raise awareness for the battle against breast cancer. Free entry will be granted to all individuals who wear something pink.


Below are the bios on the four Flo Hyman Award Winners and for Sjoholm.


Miranda L. Vega

Edgemere Elementary

A fourth-grade student at Edgemere Elementary, Miranda L. Vega is a very giving and caring person who excels across the board. She has played basketball and been a member of the Double Dutch jump rope team for many years. Her squads have been successful at all levels. Vega serves as a member of the student council which is responsible for assisting in many school and community causes. She is a part of the school’s recycling and clean-up committee. Vega helps in fund-raising and collection efforts for important causes, such as the Susan G. Koman foundation and most recently for the victims affected by the earthquake in Haiti. She has also gone above and beyond in her donations to the Child Crisis Center and the Posada home. 


Lauren Taylor Guerra

Canyon Hills Middle School

Since walking through the doors at Canyon Middle School, eighth-grader Lauren Taylor Guerra has been a positive influence across the board. A multi-sport standout, she was recognized as an Outstanding Lady Cobra as a seventh grader and is the front runner to be selected as the school’s MVP athlete this year. She also competes in the sport of handball, and was the first female from El Paso to capture a national championship in the sport. Guerra is involved in other activities, including being members of the student council, NJHS and yearbook staff. She also plays the piano for choir and orchestra programs.  An honor-roll student, she participates in several outreach and giving back programs through both her church and school.


Annette Escobedo

Clint High School

Annette Escobedo is a senior at Clint High school who has inspired others with her accomplishments. She has recovered from major knee injuries to lead her basketball team to three straight district playoffs and into the area round of the state playoffs. She has been recognized as an all-district performer, both for academics and athletics. She has also participated in volleyball and served as a manager for the cheerleading squad. A three-year member of both NHS and the student council, she is a team captain of the Destination Imagine team and has been involved with the science fair all four years. A recent recipient of the UTEP Presidential Scholarship, she is very active in the community. She has volunteered for more than 12 years at her church in different capacities. She has aided at the Night Under the Stars program and has more than 285 of volunteer hours.


Victoria Valencia

Clint High School

A two-sport standout while also being an integral member of both her community, Victoria Valencia is the epitome of a Flo Hyman Award winner. She has lettered four years in volleyball and softball, earning All-District awards in each. She has been the District 2-4A MVP twice (volleyball) and has been tournament MVP on multiple occasions. Her efforts in softball have aided in her squad securing a pair of area playoff performances and a spot in the 2008 area playoffs. She was nominated to serve as a student representative for the Health Advisory Committee, and helps in other areas as much as she can. She has maintained solid grades while helping plan extracurricular activities including assemblies and the prom. Valencia has been integral in San Elizario’s health fair, Christmas decoration fundraising and fiesta de San Felipe retreats since 2006.


Debbie (Mitchell) Sjoholm

UTEP Athletics

Hall Of Fame Inductee

A five-time All-American (four track & field and one cross country), Debbie Debbie (Mitchell) Sjoholm was one of the very best distance runners in UTEP’s storied history. She was a two-time national champion and set several school records throughout her career. She was inducted into the prestigious UTEP Athletics Hall of Fame in 2007, and her name remains well known today. She ensured her long-term legacy after an incredible performance in the mile run on the way to standing atop the podium at the 1979 AIAW Indoor Championships. For good measure, Mitchell-Sjoholm claimed another national title in 1980. It came in the form of an inspiring performance in the 2000-meter race at the AIAW indoor event. She also was a member of the Miners’ distance-medley relay at that meet which rolled to a second-place showing. In 1977 the native of Mills, Canada, burst onto the scene by finishing third at the 1500-meter at the 1977 AIAW Outdoor Championships. She improved to a second-place showing in 1978. Her school-record time of 4:13.5 in the 1,500-meter run is more than four seconds better than anyone else in program history. She also maintains the 2000 meter school mark. Making those feats even more impressive is the fact that she concluded her career 30 years ago.

The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners