Matt Camilli and Ian Campbell Named All-Conference USA Selections

Ian Campbell

Dec. 6, 2011

EL PASO - UTEP senior LS Matt Camilli was named to the 2011 All-Conference USA first team as voted on by league coaches, as announced Tuesday. Junior P Ian Campbell was selected to the second team. Additionally, OL Jarel Watkins and TE Eric Tomlinson were appointed to the C-USA All-Freshman team.

Camilli served as the Miners' long snapper for punts, field goals and PATs. UTEP did not have a punt blocked in 48 attempts. He registered two tackles on special teams.

A Ray Guy Award semifinalist, Campbell ranks first in C-USA and fourth nationally in punting with an average of 46.3 yards, kicking 48 times for a total of 2,214 yards. Campbell had 18 punts covering 50+ yards and averaged at least 50 yards in three games (54.8 vs. Stony Brook; 54.7 vs. Colorado State; 50.6 vs. Houston). The California native registered 16 punts inside the 20-yard line and had five punts fair caught and five touchbacks. Campbell averaged 44.9 yards per game in C-USA only contests.

Watkins started and played in all 12 games for the Miners. He helped UTEP rank tied for second nationally in long plays of 70+ yards, tied for sixth with plays of 60+ yards, and tied for 15th nationally in plays of 50+ yards from scrimmage. The Miners scored 18 rushing touchdowns in the red zone. UTEP had four players with 150+ yards rushing in 2011.

Tomlinson recorded six catches for 83 yards and two touchdowns. He averaged 13.8 yards per catch and had multiple receptions against East Carolina while posting a career-best 35 yards against the Pirates.

The Miners' honorable mention All-League honorees include senior RB Joe Banyard, senior OL Nathan McCage, junior OL Eloy Atkinson, senior DL Bernard Obi, senior LB Isaiah Carter, senior DB Antwon Blake and senior KR Vernon Frazier.



The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners