UTEP's Ian Campbell Garners Second-Team All-Conference USA Honors

Ian Campbell

Dec. 4, 2012

EL PASO - UTEP senior punter Ian Campbell has been named to the 2012 All-Conference USA second team, as voted on by the league's 12 head coaches. It marks the second straight year that Campbell has been so honored. Additionally, RB/KR Autrey Golden was appointed to the C-USA Freshman team while 12 Miners received honorable mentions.

A native of Duarte, Calif., Campbell accounted for 42.6 yards per punt to end the regular season ranked 30th nationally. As a team, the Miners finished 11th in the nation in net punting (40.14). Campbell kicked 66 times for a total of 2,814 yards. He posted 13 punts covering 50 or more yards, registered 21 punts inside the 20 yard line, had 18 that were fair caught while only three went for touchbacks. He recorded two punts for more than 70 yards, including a career-best-tying 72-yard boot against Rice.

Golden averaged 28.3 yards on kickoff returns to rank 12th nationally. Golden posted 29 returns for 822 yards, 710 of which came in league play. Golden registered two returns for more than 95 yards twice (vs. East Carolina and Southern Miss), both for touchdowns, becoming the only player in school history to achieve the feat. He was named the C-USA Special Teams Player of the Week for Oct. 1 after racking up 157 yards on five returns against the Pirates. Aiding that figure was a 96-yard return for a TD, the seventh-longest return in program history and the longest by a UTEP player since 2007.

The Miners' honorable mention All-League honorees include C Eloy Atkinson, DL Marcus Bagley, LS Nick Dooley, WR Michael Edwards, LB Josh Fely, Golden, S DeShawn Grayson, RB Nathan Jeffery, DE Horace Miller, OL James Nelson, DE Greg Watkins, TE Craig Wenrick and CB Darren Woodard.



The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners