UTEP Coach Mike Price to Return For 2012 Season

Mike Price

Dec. 1, 2011

UTEP Director of Athletics Bob Stull announced on Thursday that coach Mike Price will return for the 2012 season - his ninth year at the helm of the Miner football program.

One of only two coaches to lead the Miners to three bowl games, Price is the nation's sixth-winningest active head coach with 174 victories. With 45 wins at UTEP, Price is one victory away from tying Mike Brumbelow (1950-56) for the second-most in school history.

In 97 games under Price's direction, the Miners have averaged 30.4 points and 397.8 yards of offense. UTEP has had more 30-point (53), 40-point (23) and 50-point (six) games under Price than any other coach in UTEP history.

The Price era has produced UTEP's all-time leader for passing yards (Trevor Vittatoe), total offense (Vittatoe), receiving yards (Johnnie Lee Higgins, Jr.), all-purpose yards (Howard Jackson) and the single-season rushing champion (Donald Buckram). The Price era has produced seven of the top-10 single season total offense totals in school history, five of the top-10 passing yardage averages and seven of the top-10 point totals.

In 31 seasons prior to Price's arrival (1973-2003), the Miners averaged 2.6 wins per year with four years of five or more victories. UTEP has averaged 5.6 wins under Price with six years of five or more victories.

The Miners return 11 starters, including seven on offense, for the 2012 campaign.



The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners