MINERS
UTEP, Clemson to Battle For 2nd Straight Year This Afternoon

John Bohannon

John Bohannon

Nov. 23, 2012

UTEP-Clemson Notes (PDF)Get Acrobat Reader

UTEP (1-2) takes on Clemson (2-1) in the consolation draw of the Old Spice Classic on Friday at 3:30 p.m. MT/5:30 p.m. ET at the HP Fieldhouse just outside of Orlando. ESPN2 will have national coverage of the game with Jon Sciambi (play-by-play) and Fran Fraschilla (analyst) calling the action.

The Miners and the Tigers are meeting for the second straight year. UTEP upended Clemson, 61-48, 11 months ago in the opening round of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic in Honolulu.

UTEP will conclude the tournament by facing either Marist or Vanderbilt on Sunday at 9:30 a.m. MT/11:30 a.m. ET or noon MT/2:00 p.m. ET.

Clemson opened the season with wins over Presbyterian College (77-44) and Furman (72-55) before dropping a 57-49 decision to no. 17 Gonzaga last night. The Tigers led 24-23 at the half and were tied with the Zags (33-33) with 12:33 to play before Gonzaga pulled away down the stretch. Gonzaga shot 70 percent in the second half, connecting on 14-of-20 shots.

Clemson returns eight lettermen and two starters from last season. Seven of the 11 players who appeared in last year's game versus UTEP are back -- senior forward/center Devin Booker, sophomore guard Carson Fields, sophomore guard Rod Hall, senior forward Milton Jennings, sophomore forward K.J. McDaniels, sophomore guard T.J. Sapp and sophomore forward Bernard Sullivan. McDaniels (13 points) and Jennings (12) both scored in double figures in a reserve role versus the Miners a year ago.

The six players on this year's roster who appeared in the 2011 game versus Clemson are John Bohannon, C.J. Cooper, Cedrick Lang, Jalen Ragland, Jacques Streeter and Julian Washburn. Lang had a game-high seven rebounds in last year's matchup, and Streeter dished out seven assists. Cooper scored 11 points, all in the second half.

 

 

UTEP Athletics