Tim Floyd Named NABC UPS District 11 Coach of the Year

Coach Tim Floyd

March 27, 2014

UTEP's Tim Floyd was named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) UPS District 11 Coach of the Year on Thursday. District 11 is comprised of Conference USA schools. The winners are selected based on a vote by head coaches.

Despite losing three scholarship guards at midseason, Floyd led the Miners to a 23-11 mark in 2013-14. UTEP finished 12-4 in Conference USA, its second-most victories since joining the league in 2005. The Miners finished a game back of regular season co-champions Louisiana Tech, Middle Tennessee, Southern Miss and Tulsa.

UTEP won its first five conference road games for the first time in school history and had an eight-game C-USA winning streak, its second-longest since joining the league, from mid-January to mid-February. The Miners had three All-Conference players (John Bohannon, Vince Hunter, Julian Washburn), and Hunter was named the C-USA Freshman of the Year. UTEP led Conference USA in both field goal percentage (.465) and field goal percentage defense (.382), and the Miners rate among the national leaders in both field goal percentage defense (sixth) and three-point field goal percentage defense (ninth, .295).

Floyd was previously named the NABC District Coach of the Year in 1989 (New Orleans, District 8), 1993 (New Orleans, District 8), 1996 (Iowa State, District 12) and 2006 (USC, District 15).

This year's other district coach of the year winners are Tim Cluess (Iona), Tony Bennett (Virginia), Scott Cherry (High Point), Jim Crews (St. Louis), Jay Wright (Villanova), Dick Hunsaker (Utah Valley), John Beilein (Michigan), Rick Barnes (Texas), Russell Turner (UC Irvine), Monte Ross (Delaware), Brian Wardle (Green Bay), Mike Brennan (America), Steve Hawkins (Western Michigan), Moton LeVelle (North Carolina Central), Gregg Marshall (Wichita State), Steve Fisher (San Diego State), Andy Toole (Robert Morris), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Sean Miller (Arizona), Billy Donovan (Florida), Mike Young (Wofford), Brad Underwood (Stephen F. Austin), Ron Hunter (Georgia State) and Mick Cronin (Cincinnati).



Located in Kansas City, Missouri, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest "Phog" Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at www.nabc.org.
The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners