Julian Washburn Appointed to C-USA All-Defensive Team

Julian Washburn

March 12, 2013

A day after earning a spot on the All-Conference USA third team, UTEP sophomore forward Julian Washburn was tabbed to the league's All-Defensive squad on Tuesday.

Washburn was joined by Southern Miss senior forward Jonathan Mills, Memphis senior forward/guard D.J. Stephens, UCF junior guard/forward Isaiah Sykes and Houston sophomore forward TaShawn Thomas on the team. Stephens was chosen the Conference USA Defensive Player of the Year.

Washburn's top individual defensive efforts this season have come against Tulane's Josh Davis (3-for-12 FG, 9 points first game; 3-for-7 FG, 8 points second game), Marshall's Elijah Pittman (4-for-8 FG, 11 points), Tulsa's Scottie Haralson (0-for-8 FG, 0 points first game; 3-for-8 FG, 9 points second game), East Carolina's Maurice Kemp (3-for-13 FG, 10 points), Rice's Tamir Jackson (4-for-13 FG, 12 points first game), UCF's Isaiah Sykes (5-for-10 FG, 10 points), Southern Miss' Dwayne Davis (3-for-13 FG, 6 points), Houston's Danuel House (0-for-7 FG, 2 points second game) and SMU's Jalen Jones (3-for-7 FG, 7 points second game).

Washburn joins Julyan Stone (2010 & 2011) as the only Conference USA All-Defensive selections in school history.

The third-seeded Miners will face Houston or Rice in the C-USA Tournament quarterfinals on Thursday at 1:30 p.m. MT at the BOK Center in Tulsa.



The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners