UTEP To Host Lori Fitzgerald Invite Friday

Under the direction of second-year head coach Paul Ereng, the UTEP cross country teams will open the 2004 season by hosting the 22nd annual Lori Fitzgerald Invitational at the Santa Teresa Country Club in Santa Teresa, N.M., Friday.

UTEP will be running against El Paso Community College, New Mexico Highlands and New Mexico State in the scored competition. The women’s 4.67k (2.9 miles) race will begin at 5:45 p.m., followed by the men’s 6.76K (4.2 miles) race.

Both Miner squads won team titles last year at the event. The Miners’ Dirk de Heer won the men’s title in 22:10, while Adriana Pirtea of UTEP took the women’s race in 16:39.

UTEP will run Natasja Brusik, Keresta Caliz, Suezette Luevano, Fatimoh Muhammed, Pirtea and Marisol Varela. The men will feature Marco Aldaco, Mircea Bogdan, Trent Deming, Anthony Lambert, Ricky Ontiveros and Stephen Samoei.

Bogdan is the Miners' top returning runner. He finished 22nd at the 2003 NCAA Cross Country Championships to earn All-America honors.



UTEP Cross Country
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article
IMG C-USA NCAA Miner Athletic Club
Auctions Live Chats Western Refining Sponsor El Paso Electric Sponsor Sun Travel Center Sponsor State Farm Sponsor