Miners Host UTEP Invitational

M. Dudley

April 12, 2012

Revised Schedule

EL PASO – The UTEP track and field team will host its final home meet of the season at Kidd Field Saturday.

Prior to starting the running events at 2:45 p.m. MT, UTEP will take the time to honor Miner legend Larry K. Durham. In a special ceremony the track will be dedicated in Durham’s name. Durham’s actions, both on and off the playing field, have earned him a special place in UTEP athletics history. Durham’s contribution to the program gave Kidd Field a makeover for the 2011 season.

The UTEP Invitational is set to start at 10 a.m. with the women’s hammer throw, while the running events will begin at 3 p.m. with the women’s 4x100m relay.

The Miners will be competing against a strong field as they take on the sixth-ranked Arkansas women’s team, 10th-ranked Kansas women’s team and 17th-ranked Kansas State women joining Nebraska, Abilene Christian, Boise State, Central Arizona, Grand Canyon, New Mexico, New Mexico Junior College, NM State and Rice.

The invitational will mark the final home meet for All-American Endurance Abinuwa, Suji Adeniyan, Matt Dudley, Kathya Garcia, Shane Hamm, Curtis Kock, Marine Menez, Tako Niare and Kitria Stewart.  

Abinuwa will have a full slate as she is set to compete in the women’s 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay and 4x400m relay. The senior is ranked 10th nationally in the women’s 100m clocking in a time of 11.41 posted at the 2012 Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays. The All-American will be participating in the 200m dash for the first time this season.

Sophomore Janice Jackson will be joining Abinuwa on the track for the women’s 4x100m relay and 4x400m relay. Jackson will also be competing in the 100m hurdles set to begin at 3:35 p.m. Jackson recorded the nations 38th-fastest time of 13.60 in the 100m hurdles at the 2012 Texas Relays.

On the men’s side, Richard Olsson will represent the Miners on the field in the javelin throw. Olsson goes into the competition ranked 13th in the nation with a mark of 71.58m posted at the UTEP Springtime meet.

Freshman Demetris Elia will take the field at 11:30 a.m. in the men’s hammer throw. Elia is ranked third in Conference USA with a mark of 60.32m registered at the 2012 Texas Relays.

The men’s 1,500m will feature El Paso native Juan Blanco, Justice Chirchir, Ramon Garcia, Elphas Maiyo, Anthony Rotich and Elkana Rotich. The squad will be lead by Chirchir, who clocked in the 21st-fastest time in the nation of 3:44.38 in the Miners season opener.

The UTEP Invitational will conclude with the women and men 4x400m relay at 6:50 p.m. 



The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners