Miners Ready to Showcase Talents at Don Kirby Invitational

K. Garcia

April 5, 2012

EL PASO – The UTEP track and field team will travel to Albuquerque, N.M. on Saturday, April 7 to compete in the Don Kirby Invitational.

A group of UTEP distance runners will head to Stanford, Calif. for the Stanford Invitational on Friday evening with the men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase, starting at 5:58 p.m. (PT).

Running the men’s steeplechase for the Miners are Anthony Rotich and Elkana Rotich. Anthony Rotich is ranked fifth in the nation in the event with a time of 8:56.06 recorded at last weeks Texas Relays. The freshman earned Conference USA Track and Field Co-Male Athlete of the Week for his performance in the steeplechase.

Justice Chirchir will be running in the men’s 5,000m, while teammate Solomon Gardea takes the track in the men’s 10,000m at 9:36 p.m. (PT).

Sisters Kathya Garcia and Karina Garcia will be competing in the women’s 10,000m for the first time this season at 8:58 p.m. (PT).

The meet will be broadcast live by flotrack.org. The website will be covering all college races and will include post-race interviews throughout the weekend.

The Don Kirby Invitational will get underway on Saturday morning at 11 a.m. (MT) with the women’s collegiate shot put. The Miners will take the track starting at 12 p.m. (MT) with the women’s 1,500m. Wrapping-up the meet will be the women’s 4x400m relay scheduled for 5:20 p.m. (MT).

This weekend the women’s team head into competition ranked No. 25 in the latest USTFCCCA computer rankings.

Running in the women’s 200m is a trio of Miners that includes Aeisha McDavid, Yolanda Suggs and Janice Jackson.



After taking silver in the women’s 60m hurdles at the C-USA Indoor Championships with a time of 8.36, Jackson set the fifth-fastest time in school history in the women’s 100m hurdles. This will be the first time the sophomore participates in the outdoor 200m this season. 

Freshman Taylor Gunn will be competing in the women’s shot put, hammer throw and discus throw. The freshman is ranked seventh in C-USA in the discus with a throw of 45.23m (148-05) posted at the UTEP Springtime.

In the sprints A-Shawni Mitchell, Suji Adeniyan, Kyron Joseph, Curtis Kock and Anthony Wright will run in the men’s 200m starting at 4:25 p.m. (MT).

Wright ranks second in C-USA in the men’s 200m with a time of 21.30 recorded at the UTEP Springtime. The junior took first in the men’s 60m at the C-USA Indoor Championships clocking in a time of 6.74. Wright will also be competing in the 100m for the first time this season.

Mitchell holds the nations seventh-fastest time in the men’s 400m crossing the finish line with a time of 46.49 at the UTEP Springtime. The freshman took bronze at the 2012 C-USA Indoor Championships in the 400m.

On the field Andres Estrada, Donovant Grant and Jonathan Woods will be competing in the long jump. Estrada ranks fifth in the conference with a jump of 7.11m (23-04.00).

El Paso native Matt Dudley will throw the discus for the Miners at the invitational. The senior ranks fourth in C-USA for the men’s discus with a mark of 51.31m (168-04).

The UTEP track and Field team will return home to host the annual UTEP Invitational on Saturday, April 14 starting at 10 a.m. at Kidd Field. 

The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners