Women's Relay Advances to Finals

Shalaiyah Sommerville

Shalaiyah Sommerville

April 3, 2009


EL PASO, Texas - The UTEP women's 400-meter relay ran a time of 45.96 to qualify for tomorrow's finals at the 82nd Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays in Austin, Texas.

In the men's 1,500-meter run, Aggrey Chirchir and Justice Chirchir teamed up for a two-three finish. Sophomore Aggrey Chirchir finished second with a time of 3:54.38, Justice Chirchir followed at 3:54.61. Texas' Patrick Todd won the event finishing at 3:51.62.

The Miners' 1,600-meter sprint medley relay team fell short of a fourth consecutive title taking fifth in the event, 3:19.98.

The Miners will close out competition at the Mike A. Myers Stadium on Saturday. Blessing Okagbare will take the field in the women's triple jump, while fellow teammate Jepchirchir Kigen competes in the women's 1,500-meter race.

Nicodemus Ng'etich will also be in action tomorrow in the men's Jerry Thompson Mile.



UTEP Athletics