Wessman Headed to Eugene, Sprinters Advance to Quarterfinals

Ronalds Arajs

Ronalds Arajs

May 27, 2010


Thursday ResultsChampionship Central | Schedule | Live Results | Watch Live | Men's Start List | Women's Start List

AUSTIN, Texas – UTEP javelin thrower Anna Wessman punched her ticket to the 2010 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships with the day’s best throw at the NCAA West Preliminaries at the Mike A. Myers Track and Soccer Stadium in Austin, Texas.
Wessman closed out day one of competition after a successful day on the track for the Miners in which all five sprinters qualified for tomorrow’s quarterfinals. The sophomore, third at last year’s national meet and the top returner to this year’s event, walked away with a mark of 53.13m (174-04) to top all participants on Thursday night.

Senior Ronalds Arajs set the tone for the sprints in the men’s 100-meter dash. With the top three in each of the six heats plus the next best six times advancing to Friday’s quarterfinals, Arajs turned in the top time of the final heat, 10.40, to automatically move on to the next round. (Arajs Flotrack interview)

All-American Blessing Okagbare flew out of the blocks in the first section of the women’s 100 meters to cross the finish line first with a time of 11.26. Okagbare’s time held up, through six heats, as the top mark coming out of the preliminaries heading into tomorrow’s quarterfinals. The senior went into the meet with the nation’s fastest time this season. (Okagbare Flotrack interview)

A pair of Miners followed suit in the next event on the track, the men’s 400 meters. Curtis Kock, running in the first of six heats, automatically advanced to the quarterfinals following a third-place finish with a time of 46.63. Anderson Mutegi made it a two-for-two for the Miners clocking in at 46.24 in the second heat of the 400m.

Endurance Abinuwa closed out the action on the track for the Miners with an automatic qualifying performance in the women’s 400 meters. Abinuwa clocked in a time of 53.62 for third in the fourth heat of the event.

The only setbacks for the Miners came in the men’s 1,500m race and in the women’s javelin. Justice Chirchir fell short of qualifying for Saturdays quarterfinal after posting a time of 3:46.88 to finish with the 28th best time overall. Chirchir entered the event ranked 42nd in the region.

Sophomore Laura Macauley was not able to record a mark in the women’s javelin and advance past the preliminaries.

Action for the Miners begins at 3 p.m. (CT) on Friday with All-American Dimitrios Fylladitakis and Hans Eriksson in the men’s hammer throw. Also competing are Okagbare in the long jump, Suji Adeniyan in the men’s 200m and Nicodemus Ng’etich in the 3,000m steeplechase.



UTEP Athletics