Day two of Competition at Drake Relays Concludes

Distance Team

April 27, 2012


Morning Results

Afternoon Results

Night Results

Des Moines, Iowa – The UTEP track and field team concludes day two of competition at Drake Relays at Drake Stadium.

Janice Jackson qualified for the women’s 100m hurdles finals posting a time of 13.54 in the prelims. The sophomore took second in her heat and fifth overall in the event. Jackson will be taking the track tomorrow at 2:59 p.m. against the 12th ranked Ivanique Kemp from Arkansas.

The women’s 4x100m relay team (Jackson, Yolanda Suggs, Marine Menez and Magen Del Pino) clock in a time of 45.95 finishing sixth overall. The team defeated Iowa, Drake, Alabama, Iowa State and Missouri State taking third-place in their heat. The squad earned a spot in the finals scheduled for tomorrow at 4:42 p.m.

The women's 4x200m relay squad (Jackson, Suggs, Jallycia Pearson and Del Pino) crossed the finish line with a time of 1:37.41 taking fourth overall. 



The men’s 4x1600m relay (Anthony Rotich, Juan Blanco, Elkana Rotich and Justice Chirchir) dashed to the finish line recording a time of 16:57.71. Chirchir caught up to the leading pack, which included Missouri, Arkansas, Minnesota, Iowa State and Air Force to claim a sixth-place finish.

The men’s 4x100m relay team (Kristian Dillard, Kyron Joseph, Abiola Onakoya and Anthony Wright) took fifth in a very close finish between Baylor, Northern Iowa, Alabama and Kennesaw State. The squad crossed the finish line posting a time of 41.03, barley missing the finals.

The men’s 4x400m relay team (Curtis Kock, Anthony Wright, Shane Hamm and Abiola Onakoya) finished third in their heat, but failed to make it to the finals tomorrow.

The Miners will return to action tomorrow at 8:22 a.m. with the women’s shuttle hurdle relay.  

The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners