Miners Qualify for Finals at Texas Relays

K. Dillard

March 30, 2012

Austin, Texas – All-American Endurance Abinuwa clocks in the 13th-fastest time in the nation in the women’s 100m prelims at Mike A. Myers Stadium on Friday.

The senior out ran 85 competitors in the event, posting a time of 11.46 crossing the finish line ninth overall. Abinuwa will be competing in the women’s 100m finals on Saturday at 4 p.m. (CT).

Janice Jackson clocks in a personal-best of 13.60 in the women’s 100m hurdles. The sophomore surpassed her career-best of 13.68 posted at last year’s Texas Relays. Jackson now holds the fifth-fastest time in the UTEP recordbook and ranks 24th in the nation in the 100m hurdles. 

The women’s 4x100m relay team (Magen Del Pino, Abinuwa, Jackson and Yolanda Suggs) crossed the finish line with a time of 45.67. The squad finished 11th out of 47 teams that participated in the event.

On the men’s side, the 4x400m relay team had the best finish of the day qualifying for the finals tomorrow at 4:55 p.m. (CT). Anthony Wright, Abiola Onakoya, Shane Hamm and A-Shawni Mitchell finished fifth with a time of 3:09.84.

Sophomore Richard Olsson recorded a mark of 69.43m (227-09) in the men’s javelin taking fifth-place.



The men’s 4x100m relay team (Kristian Dillard, Kyron Joseph, Abiola Onakoya and Anthony Wright) posted a time of 41.32 finishing 16th overall.

Abinuwa will be the first Miner to take the track tomorrow as UTEP continues to participate in the 85th Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays. 

The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners