Men's 4x400m Relay Team Post Meet Record at C-USA Championships

A. Wright

Feb. 26, 2012

C-USA Results

Birmingham, Ala. – The men’s 4x400m relay team took gold at the 2012 Indoor Conference USA Championships Sunday.

The relay team (A-Shawni Mitchell, Abiola Onakoya, Shane Hamm, Curtis Kock) clock in a time of 3:11.64 breaking the meet record of 3:13.06 set by TCU in 2003.

Anthony Wright had a stellar performance clocking in a personal-best of 6.74 in the 60m dash finishing first overall. The junior holds the 10th-fastest mark in school history and ranks 42nd in the nation in the event.

Freshman A-Shawni Mitchell took bronze in the men’s 400m posting a personal-best of 48.10. Following closely behind Mitchell are teammates Abiola Onakoya and Curtis Kock crossing the finish line at 48.31 and 48.38, respectively.

Freshman Kristian Dillard was the Miners top finisher in the men’s 200m registering a time of 21.90 taking fifth-place.

Anthony Rotich finished fifth in the 3,000m with a time of 8:15.44, while teammate Justice Chirchir took fifth in the mile run clocking in a time of 4:13.82.

Wrapping up the men’s side is El Paso native Matt Dudley taking eighth place in the shot put with a mark of 16.83m (55-02.75). 

On the women’s side, Janice Jackson took silver in the 60m hurdles clocking in a time of 8.36.

All-American Risper Kimaiyo took her second medal of the meet in the women’s 3,000m run posting a time of 9:32.96 finishing third overall.

Senior Endurance Abinuwa finished fourth in the 60m recording a time of 7.42, while teammate Yolanda Suggs took fifth with a time of 7.47. Abinuwa also competed in the women’s 400m finishing sixth as she posted a time of 56.20.

The men’s squad finished in fifth-place wit a total of 80.5 points, while the women took sixth with 47 points.  



The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners