Men's Relay Team Post Season-Best at Texas A&M Invitational

S. Hamm

Feb. 11, 2012

Final Stats

College Station, Texas - The UTEP men's 4x400m relay squad clocks in a season-best time at the Texas A&M Invitational on Saturday.

A-Shawni Mitchell, Abiola Onakoya, Shane Hamm and Curtis Kock posted a time of 3:12.98 claiming third-place in the men's relay. The squad finished ahead of Houston, Alabama, TCU, Rice, Missouri and Baylor.

Anthony Wright continues to dominate on the men's side, taking sixth-place in the men's 60m dash registering a time of 6.83. The junior recorded a season-best in the 200m with a time of 21.74 finishing eighth overall. While teammate Kristian Dillard posted a time of 21.99.  

Senior Justice Chirchir took gold in the 3,000m run with a season-best time of 8:22.35. The Kenyan native finished second in the mile run clocking in a time of 4:03.96.

El Paso native Solomon Gardea posted a personal-best in the 3,000m crossing the finish line third with a time of 8:26.52.

On the field, Andres Estrada finished eighth in the triple jump with a mark of 14.06, while Donovant Grant took eighth-place in the men's long jump.

On the women's side, All-American Endurance Abinuwa took first-place in the 400m dash with a time of 53.33 clocking in the seventh fastest time in the nation.

Sophomore transfer Janice Jackson finished third in the women's 60m hurdles registering a season-best time of 8.38.



For the women's distance team, Jackline Ekai recorded a personal-best in the mile run clocking in a time of 5:05.22 finishing ninth overall.

The Miners will return to action on Saturday, Feb. 25 for the 2012 Indoor Conference USA Championships.

The Big Picture Photo Galleries
Follow The Miners