2007 Inductees
Football (1950-56)

The winningest football coach in program history, in terms of winning percentage, Mike Brumbelow patrolled the sidelines for UTEP from 1950-56. He compiled a record of 46-24-3, aided by five winning seasons in seven years as head coach. He also boasts the top conference winning percentage (27-15-2, 636) in school annals. To this day, Brumbelow remains the only coach in school history to lead the Miners to three bowl appearances. UTEP appeared in the 1954, 1955 and 1957 Sun Bowl, emerging victorious in two of those contests. Brumbelow directed the Miners to a 9-2 mark in 1956, the second-highest victory total in school history en route to claiming the Border Conference title.






Larry Jessee

Men's Track & Field (1974-75)

A three-time All-American who was a member of three NCAA championship teams, Larry Jessee was a standout performer with the men's track & field team from 1974-75. The 1974 NCAA indoor pole vault champion still owns the UTEP school record for the event at 18'. He became the eighth man in history to clear that height. Jessee had a decorated career following his time with the Miners, going on to compete with the United States National Team eight times. He was the 1977 and '78 USA Indoor Champion and became the American record holder in 1982 when he cleared 18-8. In his master's career, he held six world records from 1992-96. Jessee became the first and only man older than 40 to vault 18'. Jessee also served as an assistant coach with the Miners, directing four WAC Champions and three All-Americans. He has been inducted into the El Paso, UTEP Track & Field and Ohio Track & Field Halls of Fame.






Men's Basketball and UTEP Administration (1953-74) 

The second-winningest coach in men's basketball history, George McCarty made El Pasoans proud by racking up 77 victories and only 58 losses in his six years on the UTEP sideline. The Miners won the Border Conference title in 1957 and shared honors for the 1959 crown. He made a tremendous impact as UTEP's Director of Athletics, as he held that title when the Miners won the 1966 men's basketball national title. The football team also thrived during McCarty's tenure, winning a school-record-tying 21 games from 1965-67.








Track & Field (1977-80)

A five-time All-American for the powerful UTEP women's track & field program, Debbie (Mitchell) Sjoholm was one of the very best distance runners in school history. She stood atop the podium at the 1979 AIAW Indoor Championships after winning the mile. Mitchell-Sjoholm also secured the 1980 AIAW 2000 meters at the indoor championships. She was a member of the second-place finishing DMF unit during that championship meet. The Mills, Canada, native finished third in the 1500-meters at the 1977 AIAW Outdoor Championships before taking home runner-up honors in the event in 1978. To this day, she is the school record holder in the indoor 1500 and 2000 meters, as well as the mile run.







Track & Field (1951)

UTEP's first Olympian, competing at the 1952 Helsinki Olympics, Javier Montez was an incredible performer for the men's track & field program in 1951. A native of El Paso, Montez dominated in the one and two mile runs at the collegiate and international level.  He set the meet record for the mile at the Border Conference and Texas Relays, before going on to establish a national mile record at an NAIB meet. Montez also set the Texas Relays at the 1500m, in addition to toppling the standard for two miles in the California Medley Relay.  He became a three-event champion (880, one and two miles) during day one of the 1951 Border Conference track meet







NCAA Champions

The 1980 cross country team dominated en route to claiming the 1980 NCAA Championship in Wichita, Kansas. UTEP finished with 59 points, nearly 100 points better than second-place finishing Arkansas (152). In a display of awesome strength up front, the Miners accounted for three of the prestigious meet's top-four finishers. Suleiman Nayambui broke away from teammate Matthews Motshwarateu at the five-and-one half mile marker to cruise to the individual crown in a strong time of 29:04 for the 10,000-meter course. Motshwarateu, who was making his debut at the national meet for UTEP, crossed the line in 29:06. James Rotich rounded out the incredible performance by the trio, stopping the clock in 29:13.9. Michael Musyoki, who was coming off an injury, grabbed 30t place. Gabriel Kamau capped off UTEP's top five, securing 36th place.






1981 Indoor T&F 1981 MEN'S INDOOR TRACK & FIELD
NCAA Champions

The 1981 men's indoor track and field team rallied from a 16-point deficit following the first day of competition en route to rolling over the opposition to pick up its second of three straight NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championship. The effort afforded the Miners their sixth national crown in the past eight years. UTEP racked up 44 points on the second day to finish with a total of 74, with SMU a distant second at 51 points. Suleiman Nyambui captured the one-mile national title for the third consecutive campaign, and came within six one-hundredths of a second of completing an unprecedented one and two mile run sweep for three straight years by taking second in the event. Peter Lemashon stood atop the podium for the 1000 yard run, as did Bert Cameron in the 440 yard run. Michael Musyoki and Matthews put together a one-two finish







1981 Outdoor T&F 1981 MEN'S OUTDOOR TRACK & FIELD
NCAA Champions

The 1981 men's outdoor track & field team once again showed why the Miners were the best in the country. UTEP amassed a meet record of 70 points, to easily out-distance second-place SMU. Leading the Miner charge was Suleiman Nyambui, who won the 5,000 and 10,000 meter. Bert Cameron was not to be outdone, posting a school record and the then seventh-fastest time in history at 44.58 to win the 400 meters. Steve Hanna set an NCAA meet record en route to the title in the triple jump, while Michael Musyoki placed second in the 10,000 meters and third in the 5,000. Milt Ottey tied for second in the high jump and Matthews Motswarateu added third place in 10,000. Peter Lemashon closed out his career at UTEP, never failing to place in the NCAA Indoor or Outdoor championships. It marked the fourth of five successive national championships for head coach Ted Banks' squad.





Follow The Miners