2002 Inductees
Men's Track and Field Coach (1973-81)

One of most successful track and field coaches in NCAA history ... from 1972-81, Banks led the Miners to 17 NCAA titles (five outdoor, six indoor, six cross country) ... coached 189 NCAA All-Americans, including 47 NCAA individual champions ... guided UTEP to 23 Western Athletic Conference titles during his tenure ... led UTEP to the 1981 NCAA cross country title with a record-low score of 17 ... coached the Miners to NCAA triple crowns during the 1979-80 and 1980-81 school years ... inducted into the U.S. Track & Field Coaches Association National Hall of Fame in December, 2000.





Men's Basketball Coach (1961-99)

Quite simply, one of the greatest coaches in the history of college basketball ... enters the 2002-03 season ranked 13th among all-time Division I head coaches in terms of victories ... posted a 719-353 record as head coach of the Miners for 38 years ... directed UTEP to a national title (1966, when the school was known as Texas Western College), 14 NCAA Tournament appearances and seven WAC championships during his tenure at the school...became the first coach ever to start a lineup of five African-American players at the major college level during the Miners' 1965-66 national championship season ... inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Sept. 29, 1997 ... was an assistant coach to Henry Iba at the 1972 Olympic Games.





NCAA Champions

The Miners captured the national championship on March 19, 1966 in a game of tremendous historical and social consequence ... third-ranked Texas Western College stunned top-rated Kentucky, 72-65, in the title game ... in that contest TWC's Don Haskins became the first coach to start five African-American players in the championship game ... in contrast, Kentucky's starting lineup was all white ... the Miners ended the year with a 28-1 record ... to this day, UTEP is the only Division I school in the state of Texas to capture a national championship in men's basketball ... All-American guard Bobby Joe Hill averaged 15 points per game during the Miners' record-breaking season, and netted 20 points versus the Wildcats in the finals.





NCAA Champions

Under the leadership of head coach Ted Banks, the Miners captured their first-ever NCAA Outdoor Championship title ... UTEP scored 55 points, 13 points ahead of runner-up UCLA ... the Miners received their points from seven different individuals ... James Munyala won his first of three NCAA titles in the 3,000-meter steeplechase ... in the shot put, Hans Hoglund held off teammate Hans Almstrom for the national title ... Peter Farmer (hammer) and Arnold Grimes (triple jump) also finished runner-up in their respective events ... miler Wilson Waigwa was third, while Larry Jessee finished fifth in the pole vault.





AIAW Champions

The only women's athletic team to win a national title in school history, the UTEP women's track and field team took the 1980 Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) Indoor Championship ... led by youthful coach John Wedel, the Miners scored 40 points for a convincing 15-point margin of victory over second-place Wisconsin ... Debbie Mitchell was the only individual winner, taking the 2000-meter run in a collegiate record time of 6:04.79 ... the mile relay unit of Jeanine Brown, Ester Otieno, Carman Rivers and Turus Van Amstel won the national title ... the distance medley unit of Leisa Biggers, Rochelle Collins, Mitchell and Jackie Richards finished runner-up ... Jennifer Smit took third in the shot put ... the Miners also received fifth-place showings from Rivers (60-meter dash), Brown (300-meter dash) and Richards in the 1000-meter run.





1980 Indoor Track 1981 MEN'S CROSS COUNTRY
NCAA Champions

Possibly one of the most dominating performances in any NCAA Championship, the 1981 UTEP cross country team scored a record-low 17 points and had seven All-Americans for the first time in meet history ... UTEP's 17 points were only two points from perfection and 92 points better than nearest opponent Providence ... Mathews Motshwarateu outsprinted teammate and senior Michael Musyoki for the individual 10k title ... Gabriel Kaman, who came down with stomach problems midway through the race, still finished third ... senior Suleiman Nyambui took seventh for his fourth consecutive All-American honor ... Gidamis Shahanga was eighth behind Nyambui ... UTEP's non-scorers, Sam Ngatia and Tom Mawan, still finished as All-Americans ... Ngatia was 19th, while Mawan was 20th ... UTEP's record performance still holds today. The closest any team has come was Arkansas, which scored 31 points in 1993.





Follow The Miners