Athletics News
Twenty-Four Miners Will Receive Degrees on Saturday

Jessica Salvi

Jessica Salvi

Dec. 9, 2009


EL PASO – Twenty-four UTEP student-athletes will walk across the stage at the Don Haskins Center to receive their degrees during Saturday’s commencement ceremonies.

Michael Aguayo headlines the list of twelve football graduates. Aguayo was named to the All-Conference USA First Team earlier this week and was a two-time honorable mention the past two years. UTEP’s all-time leader in career receptions (200) and receiving touchdowns (15) in a season, Lee Mays will receive his undergraduate degree after a four-year stint with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Greg Hiett, the Miners punter in all games this season, will receive a Bachelor of Health Sciences following his selection as the Physical Education Major of the Year awarded by the kinesiology department. Hiett will receive the award at the annual convention of the American Alliance for Health, Physical, Education, Recreation and Dance in March in Indianapolis, Ind.

All-Americans Patrick Mutai, Churandy Martina and Quashanda Welch highlight the list of five track and field athletes. Mutai, a nursing major, was a key component in eight team conference championships, five track and field and three cross country. The three-time All-American was the conference freshman of the year for both cross country and outdoor track in 2005, he is a seven-time conference champion and the 3,000 steeplechase champion at the outdoor regional meet in 2005.

Martina set the school record in the 100-meter dash as a freshman in 2006 and went on to become an Olympian during the 2004 and 2008 games. Welch aided the women’s outdoor team to a 13th-place finish at the 2008 NCAA Championships earning all-american status as a part of the 400-meter relay that placed sixth.

Also walking the stage are UTEP’s first ever softball all-conference selection Ashley Bennett and tennis’ three-time all-conference honoree Weronika Bloczynska.

2009 UTEP Athletics Fall Graduates
Michael Aguayo – Football – Communication
Braxton Amy – Football – Multidisciplinary Studies
Ashley Bennett – Softball – Multidisciplinary Studies
Weronika Bloczynska – Women's Tennis – Biology
Delia Cesar – Women’s Track and Field – Nursing
Siobhian Crain – Women’s Track and Field – Kinesiology
Tremaine Fuqua – Men’s Basketball – Multidisciplinary Studies
Daniel Garcia – Football – Marketing/Management
Keonta Golson – Football – Multidisciplinary Studies
Gregory Hiett – Football – Kinesiology
Brandon Jordan – Football – Criminal Justice
Chad Koehane – Men’s Golf – Multidisciplinary Studies
Shea Lodes – Softball – History
Churandy Martina – Men’s Track and Field – Multidisciplinary Studies
Lee Mays  – Football – Multidisciplinary Studies
Colby Meek – Football – Multidisciplinary Studies
Vicky Michaud – Women’s Tennis – Management
Patrick Mutai – Men’s Track and Field – Nursing
Charles Ofili  – Football – Multidisciplinary Studies
James Olalekan – Football – Criminal Justice
Jessica Salvi – Soccer – Multidisciplinary Studies
Jarrett Ty Stout – Football – Multidisciplinary Studies
Quashanda Welch – Women’s Track and Field – Criminal Justice
Kyle Wright – Football – Communication

UTEP Athletics